February 9, 2022

Surface Transportation Board Docket No. EP 711 (Sub-No. 1) RECIPROCAL SWITCHING

Dear Honorable Board Members,

We, the undersigned, maintain a deep interest in free markets and the benefits they provide to the American consumer. We write to state our opposition to the Board's proposal to mandate reciprocal switching on American railroads.

As we have stated before, we believe that the proposed regulations will significantly harm the ability of the nation's freight railroads to continue their strong records of performance and investment since the passage of the Staggers Act in 1980. Those trends have continued without hindrance since the Board considered these proposals in 2011 and 2016.

We consider reciprocal switching to be forced access. Forced access will needlessly complicate an exchange that is already determined by market negotiation. Railroads' property rights will be overridden to enforce a regime of below-market rates, which will lead to less investment by railroads, diminished competitive advantage against other modes of transportation, and in the end higher prices for consumers. There will also be more strain placed on the nation's competing transportation networks, such as the interstate highway network. Second order effects on passenger rail, the environment, and safety will also be costly.

We reiterate that it would be perverse to remove the longstanding requirement to find anticompetitive effects before mandating forced access. At a time when the question of competition policy is a matter of significant national debate, it is odd that the Board seeks to remove any discussion of competitive effects from this aspect of rail regulation. Courts have consistently found that the purpose of competition law is to improve consumer welfare. Moreover, the Board has made no findings of anticompetitive practices that would justify any mandated switching. As the Board's proposals would ultimately reduce consumer welfare, we must protest that the Board is leaving consumers out in the cold with its proposals.

Moreover, we consider it questionable of the Board to bring up this matter again at a time when the nation's supply chains are under considerable strain.

For further discussion, please see the reply comments of the Competitive Enterprise Institute in the Matter of Petition for Rulemaking to Adopt Revised Competitive Switching Rules, Notice of Public Hearing, Docket No. EP 711, 78 Fed. Reg. 49721 (Aug. 15, 2013), and the comments of the Competitive Enterprise Institute in the Matter of Petition for Rulemaking to Adopt Revised Competitive Switching Rules; Reciprocal Switching, Docket No. EP 711 (Sub-No. 1), 81 Fed. Reg. 51149 (September 26, 2016).

As was said in those 2016 comments, "Continuing down the path laid out in the NPRM would constitute a dangerous reregulatory action, one Congress has rejected and precisely the type of agency conduct under STB's predecessor that led to the near-collapse of the railroad industry prior to the enactment of the Staggers Act."

We once again urge the Board to withdraw these proposals.

Sincerely,

lain Murray

Vice President and Senior Fellow Competitive Enterprise Institute

James L. Martin Founder/Chairman 60 Plus Association

Saulius "Saul" Anuzis

President

60 Plus Association

Steve Pociask
President / CEO

American Consumer Institute

Brent Wm. Gardner

Chief Government Affairs Officer

Americans for Prosperity

Robert Alt

President and Chief Executive Officer

The Buckeye Institute

Garrett Ballengee
Executive Director
Cardinal Institute

Ryan Ellis President

Center for a Free Economy

Andrew F. Quinlan

President

Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jeffrey Mazzella President

Center for Individual Freedom

David McIntosh President Club for Growth Ashley Baker

Director of Public Policy
The Committee for Justice

Jon Decker

Executive Director

Committee to Unleash Prosperity

Yaël Ossowski Deputy Director

Consumer Choice Center

Matthew Kandrach

President

Consumer Action for a Strong Economy

Douglas Holtz-Eakin

President

American Action Forum*

Annette Thompson Meeks

CEO

Freedom Foundation of Minnesota

Adam Brandon President FreedomWorks

Jessica Anderson Executive Director

Heritage Action for America

David R. Henderson Research Fellow Hoover Institution*

Andrew Langer President

Institute for Liberty

Tom Giovanetti President

Institute for Policy Innovation

Sal Nuzzo

Vice President of Policy Douglas Carswell
The James Madison Institute President & CEO

Mississippi Center for Public Policy
Alfredo Ortiz

President and CEO

Job Creators Network President

The National Center for Public Policy Research

David Ridenour

Brett Healy

President Brandon Arnold

The John K. MacIver Institute for Public Policy

Executive Vice President
National Taxpayers Union

Amy O. Cooke
President and CEO Daniel Erspamer

John Locke Foundation CEO
Pelican Institute for Public Policy

Roslyn Layton, PhD
Visiting Researcher
Mike Stenhouse

Aalborg University CEO
Rhode Island Center for Freedom & Prosperity

Matthew Gagnon

CEO Paul Gessing Maine Policy Institute President

Rio Grande Foundation

Charles Sauer
President Karen Kerrigan
Market Institute President & CEO

Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council Christopher Summers

President and Chief Executive Officer Christian N. Braunlich

The Maryland Public Policy Institute President

Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy

Patrick McLaughlin

Director of Policy Analytics/Sr. Research Fellow
Mercatus Center at George Mason University*

Randal O'Toole
Director
Thoreau Institute

*Affiliation listed for identification purposes only.